adding tags to pinboard does not work since a few days … solved

  1. twitter.com/Pinboard/… - UPDATE: Tags are not being saved because the tags table hit a scaling limit at the 2B tags mark. I need to rebuild the tags table to make room, which will take time. However, after that, I’ll be able to add the missing tags, which are stored in logs, and life will be good

  2. twitter.com/Pinboard/… - FIVE WHYs ANALYSIS: Why did tags stop working? Tag ID hit a limit Why did it hit a limit? It was an INT column Why was it an INT? I am a careless and don’t follow through enough Why am I so careless? Lonely childhood; ate paint chips Why so lonely? Vast, empty universe; no God

  3. twitter.com/Pinboard/… - So, mighty lazyweb, what is the best way to change the id column on this 96 GB table from INT to BIGINT? Using Percona 5.6.36-82

  4. twitter.com/Pinboard/… - Be the live MySQL schema change you want to see in the world

  5. twitter.com/Pinboard/… - Tags should now be working at last. Thank you all for your patience! #✅

#taggate

btw twitter.com/Pinboard/… - (Pinboard customers: I’m going to keep being ranty and political here because the table rebuild I’m doing will require about a day. I want the tagless to know that they are not forgotten)

#deletefacebook - sivers.org/facebook - blog.seanbonner.com/2012/04/1…